Town News

Supervisor Bill Reilich and the Members of the Greece Town Board Present Eagle Scout Recognition Awards at Town Board Meeting

Greece Town Supervisor Bill Reilich was joined by Greece Town Board Members Mike Barry, Josh Jensen, Bill Murphy, and Diana Christodaro for an official Eagle Scout Award Ceremony at Tuesday evening’s Town Board Meeting. The Town of Greece Eagle Scout Recognition Medal is presented to all Boy Scouts who have recently achieved the rank of Eagle Scout in their local troop.

“At Tuesday evening’s Town Board meeting, I had the privilege of presenting a proclamation and medal to two brothers – Eli and Weston Ransom – and their cousin – Zane Thieleman” said Supervisor Bill Reilich. “All three young men are members of Troop Number 18. Eli helped to restore fire hydrants in the Village of Hilton in order to complete his Eagle Scout project. He worked with the Hilton Department of Public Works and organized a team of nearly 50 people to complete this 3-day long project. For Weston’s Eagle Scout project, he installed 4 benches at the Hilton Village Park near Quest Elementary School. He organized a group of 30 volunteers and spend over 250 hours completing this project. In order to complete his Eagle Scout project, Zane organized a fundraiser and put together comfort kits for children in traumatic situations. These kits, which contain crayons, an activity pad, and a stuffed animal, have been delivered to local law enforcement and are distributed by officers in appropriate situations. I would like to thank all three young men for their dedication to making our community a great place to live”.

The Boy Scouts of America, one of the United States largest youth organizations, is dedicated to promoting self-reliance, courage, and patriotism among young men. The Eagle Scout Award is attained after countless hours of hard work, sacrifice, and dedication to the scouting creed. For more information on the Boy Scouts of America, please visit their webpage